Lost in Poetry

I have never really been that keen on poetry; I have always been interested in prose and narrative style of writing. It has come to my attention, however, in the recent years that although poetry can often be rather ambiguous, it can tell more in 5 stanzas than a novel can in 300 pages. That is the one aspect of poetry I find most intriguing. Poetry can sometimes be incredibly lyrical, expressive and symbolic; the reason it carries so much meaning in so few words. I think the best example I can relate to in my life is music. This type of poetry can convey a message or tell a story in less than 3 minutes. I am definitely trying to open up to new styles of writing, and poetry is becoming one of my favorites. In the past, I think the whole notion of ambiguity and symbolism is what drew me away from poetry, but now I believe it is the thing that is reeling me back in.

The library coauchCreative Commons License John Carlos Buen via Compfight 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Posted March 21, 2017 by Alyssa B in category General Discussion