Say What?

Since I have a great interest in satirical and dystopian novels, my favorite types of books always contain loads of sarcasm and hyperbole. I found it very interesting to find the elements of writing outside of a prose or narrative literature that I would usually read. As I had mentioned before, the thing that interests me the most about poetry is its ambiguity and the way it can tell a story in a limited number of words. Taking these two elements and meshing them together really caught my interest. At first, it seemed incredibly difficult and confusing for me to discern what the poet was really trying to say. Sarcasm, hyperbole and ambiguity can often yield confusion, but once the message was clear, I was so impressed by the way the poet was able to manipulate each word to convey an incredible story. Emily Dickinson seems to utilize these elements in a lot of her poems, as I have found a growing interest in her writing from a handful of her poems from Sound and Sense.

2012-03-10 Project 365 - Day 10 rlopex via Compfight

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


Posted March 21, 2017 by Alyssa B in category General Discussion